The Leaf Catcher.

27/11/16 – Suffolk Water Park (Big Lake)

Today was never going to be about catching fish, just like it says on the tin.

Instead It was going to be another day of firsts. 


A first visit to SWP’s main attraction, the Big Lake. Something I’ve been itching to do for a while. I was up and at’em before  it was light (which makes a change for me) , in anticipation of the need for a thorough recce before deciding on a swim. It’s a vast 26 acre horseshoe affair, but reportedly home to a mere 150 Wiley old carp. Probably why it’s considered the toughest local water and why I set out knowing I had this blank ‘in the bag’.


Today was also a first outing for my recently acquired Leaf Catcher, so when I finally decided on my swim, I wasted no time getting it set up immediately, thus enabling me to then relax and get on with the days fishing while taking in the wonderfully picturesque scenery. I’ve fished SWP’s slightly barren traditional lake a few times now but this setting feels like a whole different world. As the day went on I gradually explored as much of my swim as possible with nothing but the odd nibble from inquisitive bream presumably. I resisted the temptation to move the Leaf Catcher though, happy that I’d set it up in the perfect spot.

Another first was a lunch consisting of Pot Noodle made with tea. A slight oversight on the forward thinking and flask-making prep, but it made not a jot of difference to the famous chicken and mushroom flavour and subsequent noodle-based-snack enjoyment.

The other highlight of the day was a last ditch attempt to elicit a bite by accessing the inaccessible pocket of lily pads to the right of my swim by literally catapulting my whole rig, with an open bail arm, out under the overhanging branches to just inches from the edge of the pads. If only the fish had been as impressed as I was.

So the only thing left to do before packing up was to check how the Leaf Catcher had performed. I counted 9 in all, varying in type but mostly small in size. Not too bad for a first outing me thinks, but I’m certainly no expert. You may know different.

Leave a Reply

